The Emerging Nations Science Foundation

ENSF collaborates with scientific institutions in both emerging nations and technologically advanced nations. Collaboration may consist in providing funds to researchers from emerging nations of Asia and Africa who are conducting research work at institutions anywhere in the world; and also providing funds under special agreements between ENSF and research and educational institutions in Asia and Africa.

So far scientists from 23 countries have benefitted from ENSF grants. These include:

Algeria Madagascar
Armenia Malaysia
Bangladesh Morocco
Cameroon Nigeria
China Pakistan
Egypt Sudan
Ethiopia Syria
Germany Ukraine
India Uzbekistan
Iran Yemen
Iraq Zimbabwe


Since 2008, ENSF collaborated with a large number of institutions worldwide, in particular:

·  National Centre for Physics, Islamabad, Pakistan (
Research fellowships and travel grants;

·  Khwarizmi Science Society, Lahore, Pakistan  (
Science for public program;

·  Bharathiar University, Coimbatore, India  (
Conference sponsorship;

·  International Centre for Chemical and Biological Sciences, University of Karachi, Karachi, Pakistan (
Conference sponsorship;

·  The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy (
Fellowships, travel grants and poster prizes;

·  Sincrotrone Trieste – Elettra and FERMI light sources, Trieste, Italy (
Doctoral fellowship in collaboration with ICTP and NCP (PAEC);

·  Associazione Nazionale Pazienti per il Glaucoma, Monfalcone, Italy (Anpig) (
Conference and public events sponsorship;

·  Universiti Sains Malaysia, Penang, Malaysia (
Doctoral fellowship and travel grant;

·  Chepkoilel University College, Eldoret, Kenya (
Mentorship program sponsorship;

·  DESY, Hamburg, Germany (
Short-term post-doc fellowships;

·  Atomic Energy Authority Egypt, Cairo, Egypt (
Conference sponsorship;

·  University of Groeningen, Groeningen, The Netherlands (
Doctoral fellowship;

·  University of Maseno, Maseno, Kenya (
Master’s degree fellowship;

·  University of Bayreuth, Bayreuth, Germany (
Post-doc fellowship;

·  Astronomical Observatory of the Taras, Kiev, Ukraine (
Conference Sponsorship;

·  Institut Teknologi Bandung, Indonesia (
Research fellowship;

·  University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (
Research fellowship;

·  Makerere University & Medical Research Council, Entebbe, Uganda (
Travel grants; training fellowship;

ENSF has also a close relationship with the African Physical Society (AfPS) as the President of AfPS is a member of the Sciencitific Council.